If you have sustained injuries because of an accident where someone else is at fault, you better hope that person carries a policy with Bodily Injury coverage. If not, the only other recourse you may have would be to look at your own policy and find Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM) coverage, but it does cost extra. If none of those coverages exist, it may be hard to find legal help because it is much harder to collect money from an individual than from an insurance company.
I and many of my attorney colleagues, do not take on cases where there is absolutely no insurance coverage to collect from. It is a hard decision to turn down a potentially injured client and sadly this is something that happens in my practice on a monthly basis.
What are Policy Limits?
Insurance policies have limitations which are referred to as “policy limits.” This is typically the maximum amount set by the insurance company that they will pay for during an accident. Unfortunately in Florida, very little is needed to obtain insurance on a car. At minimum a driver needs $10,000.00 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, which in most circumstances, only covers that person if they are injured. Also required is $10,000.00 in collision coverage in case an at fault driver damages another person’s vehicle.
While most states require a driver to have Bodily Injury coverage (protects you against an at fault driver who injures you), Florida does not. With the heavy competition these days, there are numerous rinky dink insurance companies popping up all over the place, making billions of dollars in profit, yet only providing the bare minimum insurance coverage.
Furthermore, over the past few years I am seeing a trend in people reducing their insurance coverages. I get potential clients who come to me frustrated because another person has put them in the hospital and racked up medical bills and that person did not carry Bodily Injury coverage. Yet, that same potential client is driving around with the exact minimal coverage as the person who hit them because they are looking to save money. Other times, the potential client believes they had full coverage all along but they were mislead by what their insurance agent verbally told them. It is therefore important to look at and know what your policy covers.
In doing so, I cannot stress enough that you purchase Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage for situations where someone else has injured you or a family member and they do not have Bodily injury coverage or their coverage is minimal. A policy with at least $25,000/$50,000.00 limits would be the minimal I recommend, in order to protect you, your family, and anyone in your vehicle.
You may contact Mr. Sagan via email at email@example.com or 1-800-FLA-LAWYER or read more about him and his law firm at www.1800flalawyer.com
Latest posts by Shannon Sagan (see all)
- Let The Fourth Be With You - June 27, 2017
- 6 Reasons Why You Should Hire a Lawyer For Your Burn Injury Case - June 19, 2017
- Auto Recalls Hits All-Time Record High - June 12, 2017